Previous students of the week

Nathan Goode

6th June, 2018

Nathan was one of three candidates chosen from the top of the south by Rotary to be awarded a $4000 J R McKenzie scholarship  and a place on an Outward Bound Mind Body Soul course.  The three week course is being held at Anakiwa in the Marlborough Sounds between 2nd and 22nd July 2018.  


South Island Athletics Championships

25th May, 2018

Medalists from South Island Championships held in Timaru.

Back Row—L to R:  Tobi Kirkwood Thorpe (Silver 4 x 100m relay), Lucas Walker

(Bronze long jump), Jacob Brooks (Silver 4 x 100m and 4 x 400m relay),

Joelle Post (Silver 4 x 400m relay, Bronze 400m), Shannen Smith (Silver long jump and triple jump),

Ben Monaghan (Silver 4 x 100m relay), Logan Ogilvie (Silver 4 x 100m relay),

Jamey Ingham (Gold Triple Jump, Mr Aikenhead (Coach)

 Front Row—L to R: Leila Collin (Bronze Triple Jump), Camryn Smart (Bronze 200m),

Izzy Neal (Gold 400m Nationals), Holly Young (Silver 4 x 400m relay),

Davis Sundbye (Silver 4 x 100m relay and 4 x 400m relay)

 Absent: Emily Bryan (Gold javelin), Kyla Rayward (Silver javelin), Henry Russon (Silver 4 x 400m relay) Fletcher Pickworth (Silver 4 x 400m relay and Bronze 3000m), Jacob Bryan (Silver 4 x 400m relay)


Womens Rugby 7’s Team

6th April, 2018

Winners of the South Island Secondary Schools 7’s tournament, held in Timaru.

Back L to R:  Eamon MacLean, Anne Campbell, Manager, Hannah Beech,

Jasmine Wood, Sarah Fitisemanu, Elisah Godsiff, Te Manawanui Beddgood,

Kimberly MacLean, Bevan Thompson, Coach

Middle Row, L to R: Niamh Pelling, Peri Beech, Megan O’Cain, Ashleigh Wood,

Lying in Front: Rheanna Wood and Megan O’Cain



19th December, 2017

Top row left to right:  James Morris, Blair Hamilton, Konstantin Segesser von Brunegg, Josh Stock, Shaquille Rangi, Canaan Neha Manihera, Blake Ingles, Ben Johnston,

Middle row left to right:  Jamie O’Donnell—Coach, Blair Goodman, Jordan Bremner, Kyle Harrison, Davide Signorelli, Jake Walker, Edward Morris, Leeon Johnston—Coach, Manager –Kelly Stock

Front row left to right: Ryan Goodman, Tyvarn Gray, Finn Anderson, Jack Gorrill, Jacob Limmer, Asher Delany, Jacob Bryan

Absent Taylor Frater, Tito Elisara—Coach

“Well done lads. A well deserved win and a pleasure to referee. Thanks for the great game”

                                                                              Aidan Woodward—Referee


Special Olympics Team

5th December, 2017

Our team who competed at the recent Special Olympics held at Saxton Field.

All competitors put 100% into their events; their attitude, sportsmanship and behavior could not be faulted.

Back row– L to R: Emma Gillions, Michael Tideman, Paige Burley

Front Row L to R: Laura Eggers, Alice Holyoake and Sophie Evans.

Absent: Liam Goodman who was the official cameraman for the day.


“Let me win, but if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt.” 


French Speaking Competition

2nd November, 2017

Winners of regional French speaking competition run by the Alliance Francaise de Nelson. Left to right: Quinne Weber, 1st in Year 9. Emma Harvey 3rd in Year 9, Harrison Frater, 2nd in Year 9


Jacob Bowdler

10th October, 2017

Jacob Bowdler was one of fifteen finalist nationwide in the Senior Casio Mathematics Competition

The competition was on Friday September 1 at Victoria University.

 Jacob has a perfect record of 5 out of 5 Distinctions in Australian Mathematics from Y9-13


NMIT Bridge Building Competition

13th September, 2017

Noah Appleton and Davide Signorelli won the NMIT Bridge Building Competition. 

Their bridge held a load of 51.1kg




Jayme Rae Anae – Talent Quest Winner

10th August, 2017

Jayme Rae Anae was named as the Superstar Winner of the 2018 Talent Quest.

Jayme Rae played guitar and sang Gnarls Barkley’s “Crazy” and also sang “Hallelujah”

as a duet with Saskia Gray


Suono Bellissimo

28th July, 2017

Suono Bellissimo competed at the Big Sing competition held on 16 June.

Suono Bellissimo was commended and placed 1st in the Classical Composition category. 

Back from left:  Anita Botica, Niamh Tasker, Renee Currie, Lena Karabeg, Stella Stevens,

Saskia Gray, Selena Christie, Pamela Currie, Hannah Wenzel 

Front from left:  Heather Sinclair-Wentworth, Maddie Bridge, Tessa Seymour, Emma Harvey,

Isabella Braxton-Bailey, Kiera Inglis, Tagan Stringer and Mia Wealleans 

Absent: Laura Bowdler, Lucy Bradford, Meret Kress, Mamie Mikaere,

Puawai Teaukura, Jessica Tibbs and Shanti Wemyss.


Manu Korero

20th July, 2017

Motueka High School competed recently in the Regional Manu Kōrero Speech Competition. 

Schools from the Nelson and Tasman Regions compete to find the best junior and senior speaker in Te Reo Māori and English.  Saskia Gray (left) Jayme Rae Anae (righlt) and Tamu Emery (absent) competed for our school.  Tamu came third place for Senior Māori.


Risaleaana Pouri-Lane & Sydnee Wilkins

3rd July, 2017

Risaleaana Pouri-Lane and Sydnee Wilkins have both been selected in the

NZ Under 18 Training squad for Rugby 7’s.

The team will be named in October after trials are held.


Sydnee Wilkins

8th June, 2017

Sydnee was named the Most Valuable Player at the recent

Sir Gordon Tietjens 7s Rugby Invitational Tournament held on 3 and 4 March in Palmerston North


17th May, 2017

Canaan Neha-Manihera and Jayme-Rae Anae welcomed Te Ururoa Flavell, Minister of Maori Affairs to Te Whare Taikura o Te Maatu


Isaac Bensemann

7th April, 2017

Isaac organized and hosted the Shave for a Cure event held at school on the 24th March, where students bid for the right to shave a fellow student or teachers head.

Over $1500 was raised for Leukaemia & Blood Cancer 


Riseleaana Pouri-Lane

17th March, 2017

Risaleaana has been selected  for the New Zealand Under 18’s Womans Touch team

and is in the Black Ferns Development squad



13th March, 2017


Ben Cudby and Laura Wilkinson


NCEA Excellence Level 3

24th February, 2017



Student of the Week 24 Feb 17

Abby Seymour, Fletcher Frater, Hannah Gordon, Hayley Garlick


Regional Champions Y10 Nelsomathix

7th December, 2016

Regional Champions Year 10 Nelsonmathix Competition

Left to right: Thomas Pearson, Raven August (captain), Isabella Cranshaw, Alex Brogan


Isabella Cranshaw

1st December, 2016

Isabella has achieved high distinction in the following competitions:

ICAS Australian English Competition

 Big Science Competition run by Australian Science Innovations (ASI)

Australian Mathematics, and she was a member of the winning Nelsomathix Y10 team



Upcoming events

Term 3 begins: Monday 23 July 2018
TSS Intra-Row competition begins: 30 July 2018
Physics Star Party: Saturday 4 August 2018
Open Evening: Tuesday 7 August 2018
6.45pm School Hall.  All welcome.  Guided or self-guided tours available ...[more]
Read more
Momentum Dance: Friday 10 August 2018
6.30pm Friday 10 August Motueka Memorial Hall.  Gold coin entry
Back to the Eighties Musical: 22-25 August 2018
7pm  Motueka Memorial Hall.  Adults $15, Students/Senior Citizens $10.  ...[more]
Read more
See all events »